It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 05:23

New Topic Add Reply
ID Help
Post 28 Feb 2023, 10:44 • #1 
Glass Fanatic
I did a favor for a friend of a friend. He knows i like fiberglass rods. So the other day he showed me this flyrod. Says he won it "30 or 40 years ago at a sporting club fundraiser dinner." It looks to me like it could be a kit rod or a one off built on the Phillipson "Orvis Golden Eagle" blank.

It's 6'5" assembled. Nickel sliding bands over nice cork. Sort of a superfine style grip with understated nickel check, hook & ring hook keeper. Thread appears to be silk with a fine low build finish. Weighs 2.25oz.

Re: ID Help
Post 28 Feb 2023, 10:59 • #2 
Guide
I'm far from an expert but it certainly looks like a Golden eagle blank. Could possibly be a kit rod someone assembled. I've been finding blanks in the wild recently so I don't see why someone wouldn't have had access to the golden eagle blanks back in the day, so its possible. I'll let others with more knowledge chime in.

Post 28 Feb 2023, 13:28 • #3 
Master Guide
One of the first rods I built was on an Orvis fiberglass kit about 50 years ago. It's on a yellow Phillipson blank. This appears to be the later version, pea green rod blank, with the characteristic enlarged ferrule and metal ferrule ring. The stripping guide and tip top appear to different than a factory rod would have too. There is no inscription, which you would typically have on a factory rod.

I'd say you're right on target with your assessment of a kit or custom built Phillipson. Nice rod!

Post 28 Feb 2023, 14:58 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
I took a few more photos.

Post 28 Feb 2023, 15:59 • #5 
Master Guide
Hmm???
Looks like a golden eagle to me as well.

But the weight is off by 1/4oz
epoxy wraps,ceramic tiptop and stripper vs the carbide stripper and std chrome tiptop could account for weight difference

The 6.5ft factory Golden eagle rod only weighs
1-7/8oz

And just to make things spicy..
Here’s two 8ft Golden Eagles with different weights