It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 15:29

New Topic Add Reply
Post 01 Dec 2022, 21:37 • #1 
Sport
Hi all,
I am a relative beginner to fly fishing and have been "collecting" flies as I see nice (quality) flies at a bargain.
It has worked out pretty well because I have 12 - 1500 flies. This includes wet, dry, and streamers in
a multitude of varieties. It has been on my mind to either get the help of a fellow FR'er for direct support
in going through everything and helping and advising me on how to identify, sort and group it all for easy
reference and use. Or, reach out to see how you all would recommend I approach this from the best and
most advisable recommendations. Im looking forward to logical and practical approaches from experience.
Thanks

Canton

Last edited by Crustyrusty on 02 Dec 2022, 13:01, edited 2 times in total.

Post 02 Dec 2022, 00:34 • #2 
Master Guide
Hey Canton ,
I just throw it all into some random cheap boxes that get given to me and go fishing..

Streamer boxes , dry box, wets,lots of nymph boxes , midge box, Bass boxes .
I’m Better organized than I used to be lol :lol
Here’s what I take fishing on a weekly basis

If you wanted to get “orginizized” lol
I could hook you up with a spare Jam-PAC
Box from my home fly shop SRO.

I could give those Daiwas that are making too much noise for you
a good home
Just saying .. hint hint lol ;) :P
Good times!
Scotto

Post 02 Dec 2022, 00:51 • #3 
Glass Fanatic
I sort in a funny way.

The first division is warm water vs cold water (or maybe just really big and really small)

Poppers, Sliders and large floating bass flies are one box (basically a boat box, but it's a scrapbook sterilte container with foam bolted into the top and bottom)

Streamers for Warm Water are another Box

Streamers for cold water are a third box

Now to the trout flies. I separate them by the destination. then by size
* south central PA (has a bit of focus on spring creeks)
* Central PA, North Central up to the Catskills