It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 16:45

New Topic Add Reply
Flies for tilapia?
Post 02 Jul 2022, 09:46 • #1 
Guide
I’m headed to Florida for a few weeks and the local freshwater ponds/lakes where I’m going are full of tilapia.

What fly patterns have folks had success with tilapia?

Re: Flies for tilapia?
Post 02 Jul 2022, 11:36 • #2 
Guide
I don't have any experience with trying, but just yesterday I was reading an article about tilapia;
they feed for the most part on algae, so tiny hooks dubbed with simple olive or brown bodies are recommended. Think aquarium fish food.
There is also anecdotal evidence that they will feed on large insect and worm hatches, and when farmed they are fed corn and feed pellets. I would guess that a tailwater trout selection of nymphs could be helpful in the right situation.
I'm sure someone with actual experience will chime in, but I hope this helps.

Post 02 Jul 2022, 12:17 • #3 
Guide
I have limited experience..but have caught a few in freshwater ponds in the Phoenix area.

A small, size 8-10 leech pattern fly with a #12-14 dropper nymph hooked a few in the 2-3 lb range..floating line, 3x, 4x leader

They love really warm water, hate the cold...water temps 80+ deg had them frisky while bass/sunfish barely moved. They are a bit spooky from what I observed.

In one pond I saw a small school follow us around, so I suspect local homeowners fed them from shore of the ponds in the big subdivision.

They are fun, guess there are tons of cichlids in FL these days

Post 03 Jul 2022, 16:29 • #4 
Guide
BrianN wrote:
I’m headed to Florida for a few weeks and the local freshwater ponds/lakes where I’m going are full of tilapia.

What fly patterns have folks had success with tilapia?