It is currently 24 Apr 2024, 20:43

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 10 Jan 2020, 20:07 • #1 
Sport
I'm new to the world of trying flies, been mooching them from Buddies for too long.

What kind of glue is the one most common on your bench?

I'm going to start out tying some hoppers, some with sponge but would still like to get a glue I can use for most of my trying needs.

Thanks in advance

Post 10 Jan 2020, 20:45 • #2 
Guide
Zap-A-Gap works well for a lot of applications.

tt

Post 10 Jan 2020, 23:10 • #3 
Master Guide
It's best to get stuff at your tying level learn to use a a half hitch knot tool and head cement. Theres no point on learning how to use glues if you aren't ready. But I use crazy glue, head cement and uv resin. You can get different types of adhesives, you just need to learn how to use them.

Post 10 Jan 2020, 23:32 • #4 
Guide
I like Gorilla Brand superglue gel for foam flies. I find the gel is much easier to control than the liquid superglue. I use Sally Hansen's Hard as Nails clear nail polish for head cement. It's inexpensive and easy to find in most grocery and drug stores. Mike

Post 11 Jan 2020, 00:57 • #5 
Glass Fanatic
Tying a typical fly, wet dry, nymph or streamer, I use no glue at all.

Post 11 Jan 2020, 04:37 • #6 
Master Guide