It is currently 24 Apr 2024, 19:37

New Topic Add Reply
Post 23 Apr 2009, 05:50 • #1 
Hello!

I am relatively new to this fiberglass thing, and just recently got a Hardy Jet 7 weight, 8'6" 2 piece. The rod is in very good condition, but when I put the two pieces together, it's snug, but barely. I think the ferrule is a little worn. I searched through the forum here for suggestions on repair, but was unable to find anything. When the rod is assembled, the tip and butt sections actually touch, and from what I have read there should be a small gap when the ferrules tighten up.

So what do I do to fix this? Does anyone make a replacement, or do I need to do some handywork myself? At this point, I am open to suggestions, I would like to fish this rod, but I am afraid to cast it right now, worried that the tip section will come off or the rod will snap. I will post some pictures when I get home from work, but I would like to know if anyone has encountered this.

Thanks!

Oh, edited to add: This is a spigot ferrule.

Last edited by Akroyd on 23 Apr 2009, 06:03, edited 1 time in total.

Post 23 Apr 2009, 09:17 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
Welcome to the forum,
Sounds like very common normal assembly wear, often encountered on rods with glass spigot ferrules that have been taken apart alot. There is one very simple repair. You squarely sand down the female till you recover your maximium 3/16 inch snugged up gap, the remove the remainder of the female ferrule overwrap and matching the thread and pattern rewrap it and refinish the wraps to match. Sometimes some tricks of the trade are needed to give the appearance of exposure to sun and time to help get a match between old thread and new, but its pretty much a common repair.