It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 10:10

New Topic Add Reply
Rod building with ADD!
Post 19 Nov 2022, 01:21 • #1 
This post is basically to introduce myself and start asking some questions. Perhaps it's obvious that my name is Dave - I'm from Ravenna OH - I sometimes make tools for fly tying and sell them as Sukhoidave's Custom Tying Tools. I've become short on materials and motivation for that but try to come through when people have requests. I've been tying flies for 54 years - since I was 8 and learned with some very good instructors like Wayne Luallen, John McClain, Paul Ptalis, and Don Bastian.

I've built around a half dozen fishing rods - mostly fly rods but also a 10 foot Ugly Stik Surf spinning rod that came out well. I made a 5wt fly on a St Croix blank that is my best effort - came out beautiful and performs very well. I traded it to a guy for a sweet traditional recurve bow and hope he's still using and enjoying it. I made a 12wt Tarpon rod on another St. Croix blank that I'm quite sure I'll never use for Tarpon... got a big Atlantic Salmon on it while trolling smelt streamer flies in Sault Ste. Marie last summer. I also still have a 9wt St. Croix fly rod I built and traded away a 7wt.

RIght now I'm working on a Batson Rainshadow 6' 6" 2 weight to replace a 3wt that I built years ago and then broke it on or before the first cast with it. (ADD brain tossed it in the back of the pickup truck all strung up and ready to go with a bunch of shovels and axes) I also just got a honey yellow 7' 6" 4wt 3 piece blank from Get Bent Fly Shop - it's beautiful! This time my ADD brain had me gluing on the reel seat before figuring out the spine... I think I managed to get it lined up properly before the epoxy set up...

I have to constantly remind myself to go very slow, think things through first, and even write stuff down!