It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 14:28

New Topic Add Reply
Post 07 Oct 2022, 10:11 • #1 
Sport
I would like to build a spinning rod and gift it to a friend who fishes the salt in cape cod for stripers. I have zero knowledge in this type of fishing and have been looking for some information about what makes a good striper rod but found mostly sales pitches. I've built only fly rods with nylon, and silk thread using a varnish finish. The rod would be used in off shore fishing. I sure could use some suggestions from anyone who may have experience in this type of build...Thank you.

Post 07 Oct 2022, 21:12 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
Correct me if I’m wrong, but the rod you're planning to build is for surf fishing, right?

Assuming you want a fiberglass blank, blanks from Lamiglas and Fenwick were what has traditionally been used in the northeast. These rods are usually in the 10-1/2’ to 11-1/2’ range.

I’ll throw out a couple of blank numbers. These are what I use for fishing Long Island and Cape Cod.

Lamiglas SSB136 2M, 11-1/3' long, rated for 3 - 5 oz lures.

Fenwick SU1265F, 10-1/2' long, rated for 3 - 6 oz lures.

I tend to doubt that these are still made, but you can use these specs as a guide.

Post 08 Oct 2022, 06:12 • #3 
Sport
Thanks Gaddis for your reply. I'm afraid I didn't do a very good job explaining what I think I want. I believe this fellow fishes from boats with conventional spinning gear. I was hoping for some suggestions on blank type, length, action, and any specifics on a salt water build. Thank you.

Post 08 Oct 2022, 06:22 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
Tough to judge from that, I’m afraid. Stripers can run from a few pounds to 10 times that. We’d need to know more about what style of fishing he usually partakes in. Possibly if you knew a specific reel model he uses, I could probably infer a rod from that.

Post 08 Oct 2022, 07:44 • #5 
Guide