It is currently 23 Apr 2024, 17:29

New Topic Add Reply
Post 10 Dec 2019, 18:28 • #1 
Hi ! - newbie here . .

I'm about as far along as it feels safe to go in a project to replace wraps on a Wright & McGill "Green Hornet" 3 piece 8' (w/ Granger uplocking reel seat, but marked as Wright & McGill seat & w/ two patent dates - blank sez it is for IGH line weight).

I am unsure as to how to safely remove the residue remaining on the blank after cutting off the old wrap silk? It didn't just peel off. A razor blade seems problematic to scrape the hardened stuff off - I surely don't want to damage the blank. Thoughts as to possible products to apply? Acetone safe?

Thanks,

Terry

Post 10 Dec 2019, 18:53 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
Welcome, jazzsegue!

You're right to shy away from sharp edges. Try worrying the residue away by rubbing with a hard, smooth object. The lever on a pair of nail clippers can work, as can the handle of a burnishing tool. Others with more experience than I may have better methods.

Good luck with the project; don't forget to post photos as it progresses.

Post 10 Dec 2019, 19:01 • #3 
Glass Fanatic
I wouldn't recommend acetone - it's a very powerful solvent and could attack the paint on the blank or the blank itself.

Post 10 Dec 2019, 21:36 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
Try an old credit card.

Post 11 Dec 2019, 07:38 • #5 
Master Guide
Carefully swipe the spots with the flame from an alcohol lamp. And I mean swipe -- stay off of the main blank. Then scrape.

Post 11 Dec 2019, 11:59 • #6 
Glass Fanatic
Agree with staying away from sharp edges. You can try using a hair dryer, applying heat directly to the area needing cleaning, then scrape with a plastic edge. Work small areas.

Post 11 Dec 2019, 18:20 • #7 
Glass Fanatic