It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 09:59

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 01 Oct 2016, 21:37 • #1 
Guide
I give up!

For the life of me I can not seem to figure out how to get rid of the air gap along the guide feet with varnish even using low pro Snake Guides. I can do it easy with epoxy but it feels like I'm being taunted by ManOWar and I refuse to give up!

What's the secret?

Post 01 Oct 2016, 22:04 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
1) don't thin the varnish
2) heat the varnish
3) There is some trick to adding a bit as it dries (adding a second coat fairly quickly) or keeping it wet for a while and then wicking the execess away, but I don't have this part figured out.

I don't usually get tunnels, but I do end up with too much varnish on my 2nd or 3rd coats, so I am not an expert at varnish. Poly varnish seems to be much easier for me than the oil based type. I think I need to work on figuring out the drying time between coats better.

Post 01 Oct 2016, 23:36 • #3 
Guide
Interesting thanks Carl! I've been wondering if heating the varnish might be the trick but I definitely don't thin anything.

I found a post from Shane, I think it was, from a few years ago where he said the drying time seems to get longer between coats. Like 4 hours then 12 hours then the next day or something like that. Whatever he does it sure seems to work!

Post 02 Oct 2016, 05:10 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
Varnish soaks into the thread so the thin protective finish is in them, not on them, except for finish coats. There is no need to fill the tunnels, especially with a product designed to work best in thin, flexible layers. Varnish that won't blob up under there is telling you something. If it did, it would just crack and check later. Filled space under the guide is a cosmetic adaptation many have come to expect as it is seen with epoxy finishes, making a virtue of necessity.

Post 02 Oct 2016, 05:32 • #5 
Master Guide
carlz wrote:
1) don't thin the varnish
2) heat the varnish