It is currently 23 Apr 2024, 21:32

New Topic Add Reply
Restoration Help
Post 19 Mar 2013, 08:22 • #1 
Sport
Hey everyone. Im new here as you can tell and I'm new to glass as well. Ive been guiding full time for about ten years now and part time for even longer and I always refused to use glass because of the action ... until this one day. I was going on a trip with clients to a brook trout stream and broke a 2WT on the way out the door. I called a guide friend of mine on the Scott pro staff to borrow a rod and when I showed up they gave me a Scott F2. I didn't have a choice so I took it and by about halfway through the instructional phase of the trip I was sold and converted forever.
And thats my spiel. All that being said I have an appreciation for old fine things and although Ive built plenty of rods I've never done glass and Ive never done a restoration. I want to restore a couple of old glass rods but I don't know where to begin especially as far as the stripping goes. I don't want to damage the rods taking off the epoxy or wraps. What is the best way to remove the epoxy, finish, reel seat, cork, etc. I know out Citrus Strip and by looking through other posts here, every time this question is asked thats the response they get. Im looking for a little more detailed response or a link to a good video or pictorial ... anything. I know there are some out there but since many of you know what you're doing I thought it best to ask here so I don't take bad advice somewhere else. You guys are all great and I'm really enjoying the time I spend browsing. Thank you!

Re: Restoration Help
Post 19 Mar 2013, 11:36 • #2 
Guide
I'm not sure you will find everything you need in one tidy place but here is a few suggestions: