It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 14:54

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 07 Aug 2022, 17:06 • #1 
Sport
Hi all,
Im new to fly fishing. I have done a fairly decent job of putting together quite a few rods a reels.
The One take away I havnt figured out yet is; why would someone design a click pawl fly reel that
makes so much noise. I dont know about anyone else, but when Im out enjoying the day fishing,
and soaking in nature in a peaceful location the last thing I want is to taint the tranquility of the
moment when I start winding my fly line in. Actually this wouldnt happen to me because I refuse
to use a fly reel that makes that much noise, and there are a lot of them. Besides being loud
enough to travel a considerable distance through the air, I would also imagine that the vibration
and sound to a lesser degree would transfer to the water as well. Its obvious why people put
headers on their cars and trucks. Its not so clear why so many [ not all ] engineers designed
click pawl fly reels that made so much noise.
The fly reels that I have found to have a pleasant mechanical operation and noise level are;
Pflueger Medalist's, Olympic 440 / 460, and the Daiwa 233. I also have a Martin 67 SS that is
borderline. What was really disappointing was my purchase of my 2 Daiwa SF-708's. Beautifully
engineered and esthetic, accept they make so much noise [with drag turned all the way down]
unless there is a work around fix to reduce their noise Im going to get rid of them. Has anybody
else asked this question. And, what are other click pawl fly reels that operate with less noise.

Thanks,

Canton

Post 07 Aug 2022, 18:08 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
I dont have one anymore but personally I just love the scream of a Hardy,especially the Flyweight I used to have. ;)

Post 07 Aug 2022, 18:23 • #3 
Master Guide
Try to find an Orvis Battenkill, either the Battenkill Mark series made by Hardy or the BFR made Battenkill that came next.