It is currently 23 Apr 2024, 12:11

New Topic Add Reply
Post 21 May 2021, 21:14 • #1 
Hi all,
Newbie here. I have been spending an inordinate amount of time on this great site for the past three weeks. Lots of great information and many, many reels that i wasn't aware of. So far, I've drawn two conclusions in regards to old reels 1) right hand wind seems to have been the status quo and 2) #5 /#6 /#7 the most prevalent class. So i wanted to find something like an old Hardy Perfect in #3/#4 and LHW, it would be next to impossible or disproportionally expensive. I am wrong on this?
If that is correct, when did reel manufacturers such as Hardy start to offer LHW? How about lighter line weights?
By the way, thanks to all who unselfishly share their expertise and pics. This is an awesome resource.

Post 21 May 2021, 22:37 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
Many of the Old Hardy's (lightweight, featherweight, princess) are reversible. The line guard can be taken off and flipped, and the pawls can be flipped.

Some other drag/check systems take more work or can't be flipped.

Post 21 May 2021, 22:44 • #3 
Piscator
1960s are when most reels became reversible.
If you go back to the '40s, Pfluegered offered 159x Medalists that were factory LHW.
1958 is when JW Young first offered reversible reels.
I would say it was into the 1980s before virtually all new reels were made reversible and they were delivered set up for LHW.

Post 21 May 2021, 23:30 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
I think in the early '90s almost all the reels displayed in the local shops were still delivered RHW. I own two Medalist with 2001 date code that I think were RHW from the factory, I half remember changing them, but I'm not positive.
I think most all machines get designed for clockwise motion.

Post 22 May 2021, 01:17 • #5 
Administrator
StreamDruid wrote:
1) right hand wind seems to have been the status quo and 2) #5 /#6 /#7 the most prevalent class.

Welcome to the forum!