It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 05:38

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 29 Mar 2018, 10:36 • #1 
Glass Fanatic
In watching auctions and sales for the Medalist reals and even the Sal-Trout reels it seems like there is a trend that the Gems are left un-bid/unsold while most of the Medalists and Sal-Trout reels sell, the Sal-Trout for less, depending on vintage, but it looks like most of them do sell.

I don't have a lot of experience with the Sal-Trout, but it looks a little basic and not as stout in build as the Gem or the Medalist. I have no experience with the Gem, and that is why I ask.

I have a couple of Gems calling to me, the handle and the raised screw...just the look of them.

I have done a search and while I found folks who like them, there is not a lot of detail

Post 29 Mar 2018, 12:02 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
To me it is the drag system, I have never seen a Gem in person but pictures clearly show it has a spring-pawl-click/whatchacallit drag similar to several other reels that I have had and did not like.
All the similar reels had the springs had problems. Enough to keep me from bidding on an unknown. If I had one in hand, I'd give it a try and hope for a surprise.
If I collected for the sake collecting, I'd want a couple just to have, but...

Post 29 Mar 2018, 12:14 • #3 
Piscator
apples and oranges, for sure, but Sal-Trout is a good reel.
The white-handled Gems are postwar. The plastic composition on many of the prewar Gems gave up, but they take to a Pfoot handle perfectly.
The Gem is a great reel with a smooth large-diameter drag gear, light weight, and made to last. They're much smoother than the click-pawl Medalist, which has a small drag gear.
Official blue collar Pflueger.
We don' need no drag - Gem has a Great click-pawl
Image Image
if you can find the horseshoe latch Gem, they were only made in 1935
Image Image
1951 Wards cat

Here's a Sal-Trout, inside and out - the caliper clicker spring can be biased, but it will never be a clockwork click-pawl