It is currently 20 Apr 2024, 08:56

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 18 May 2007, 04:44 • #1 
Glass Fanatic
Hi Bulldog,

The Young Pridex I bought some time ago (3in X1in) has some issues, and Im not an expert on fixing Young reels. The issue is this I think. At some time the reel took a tumble. As I look at the edge of the case it appears to not be pefectly round, perhaps bounced off a rock or river edge or something. As such the spool has a very slight bind as it rotates. I've carefully looked at everything to come to this conclusion. However I don't want to make matters worse by doing something stupid like trying to pry the case to straighten it. So, do you look at such things and make repairs? or know someone that does. The reel is in great shape otherwise and would be perfect for some rods I have. Its usable as is, but once you've used a Young, or a Hardy for that matter, you get used to things being butter smooth.

Another question that might be a fun project. I have a Shakespeare Omni 44 single action flyreel. Brand new! they were made in Hong Kong several years ago for Kmart. Anyway, when Kmart was closing down many of its stores in the early 2000s I took advantage of some of the 70% off last week sales. This was part of one such.
When I got it home I realized that one of the line guide plates, part no 44-4 was missing. Anyway a long story short I sold most everything else years ago on ebay, but kept this one reel hoping to find the part. In contacting both Kmart and then Shakespeare the part it seems is unavailable.
This would make a great auction item for the forum if the part could be found to bring it back into new mint condition pefect, its a really nice single action flyreel even though its made in Hong Kong.

Richard

Post 18 May 2007, 05:08 • #2 
Piscator
I've been known to use a block of spanish cedar and a moll to move frames around when needed, and have had some good luck with it.
If it's not completely bound up, it sounds promising.