It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 17:00

Forum Guide

These discussions MUST stay on the original topic.
Please be courteous and considerate.

Only Commercial Forum members and Staff may initiate discussions here - everyone may reply

New Topic Add Reply
Post 22 Nov 2017, 14:36 • #1 
Glass Fanatic
Hello everyone, here's an update I wrote on my blog (http://cbarclayflyrods.com/smallwater/2017/11/22/retiring-and-rod-building-and-blanks)

Retiring and Rod Building and Blanks
NOVEMBER 22, 2017
Being relatively new to the Winston Salem area I still meet a lot of new people. It's always interesting to hear the reactions from people I meet when they ask what I do for a living. One guy recently said, quite intuitively I might add, 'so you have a hobby for a job - what are you going to do when you retire?' I've joked, somewhat seriously, that I won't retire as there's no need. Maybe I'll just slow down a little, but then I'm not all that fast so that doesn't make much sense either. It seems like by now I'm fairly unemployable so I hope to build fly rods until I can't.

Anyway, I've got a new rod series coming that I'm very excited about. How excited am I? I'm so excited that I'm going to retire my two previous series of rods and sell some surplus blanks. That's something I said I'd never do. Don't get me wrong, I love the 'brown ale' and 'p' series. I've learned a lot in creating them, still fish these rods often and love them dearly. I just feel it's time to offer something new. This lines up with my idea of building 'small batch' fly rods and hopefully helping to retain a freshness in the market and value for those who've bought rods from me in the past. I'll make the new series details available over the next month, by the way.