It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 00:18

Forum Guide

These discussions MUST stay on the original topic.
Please be courteous and considerate.

Only Commercial Forum members and Staff may initiate discussions here - everyone may reply

New Topic Add Reply
New Steffen taper: 7'0
Post 27 Sep 2010, 06:19 • #1 
Glass Fanatic
Mark Steffen was kind enough to give me the opportunity to test two prototypes for him (OK, the truth is I have been pestering him off and on for two years about building this taper): 7'0" 5wt and 5/6wt. I've been looking for a short 7'0" streamer rod for a few years. Rods in any material in that configuration always suffer from lacking power to control a streamer or being so powerful that they loose feel and become club-like. I've been looking for a rod to cast small and medium sized streamers overhead and roll, 10’-30’ (distance from my feet to the fly). If it can throw a dry halfway delicately, that’s a bonus. Any range beyond 30’ is also a bonus for this rod. As far as rod design, in a streamer rod one thing I look for is a slightly stronger tip both for casting and controlling line and fly once in the water. By the way, this is what I sent Mark as feedback, and I have his permission to post this here for the collective.

I cast both rods for over an hour with a variety of lines and flies and at various distances with DT5 and WF6 floating lines with new 7.5’ leaders, WF5 and WF6 intermediate tip lines with 6’ heavier leaders. Cast #14 dry, #10 small unweighted streamer, #8 medium weighted streamer. This was done on the water, not the lawn.

5/6wt: I didn't like this prototype. Mark didn't like it either, but he wanted to make sure, and sent it to me anyway. It'll never see the light of day again is my guess, so I won't belabor the details. Maybe he'll come up with another 5/6 (says he has some ideas for how to redesign) but that's a topic for another day.