It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 20:07

New Topic Add Reply
Post 19 Jan 2021, 17:45 • #1 
Guide
Hello Everyone,
I just picked up a new old stock Orvis 7' 6wt "A" fullflex, four piece fly/spin rod.
I've searched a lot on the forum for information on this rod and cannot find much.

Is it the same four piece blank as the standard four piece "A" 7' fly specific rod?

How does it fish (fly and spin)?

I've only lawn casted it, and waggled the rod so far. Compared to my existing 8' 6wt rods (ProCrest, Fenwick) it seems a lot faster, and much stiffer (quick recovery).

Thanks,

Post 19 Jan 2021, 18:56 • #2 
Piscator
My guess a better spinning rod than fly, and would try it first with a 7-wt before trying 6-
To be a good L spinning rod of the era, the tip would be faster than a 7' progressive fly taper.

Post 20 Jan 2021, 13:09 • #3 
Glass Fanatic
Pictures are always fun...

I have no experience with that rod, but typically spin rods are a bit "faster" feeling that fly rods.

Post 20 Jan 2021, 15:40 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
I think that back then every ferrule added stiffness too and a four part rod would be stiffer from that alone being cut from the same blank.
That must be an Orvis made rod rather than a made for Orvis, since it is Fullflex "A" ?

Post 20 Jan 2021, 16:54 • #5 
Glass Fanatic
I moved this here, hoping will get some attention from spin-fishers.