It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 02:24

New Topic Add Reply
Post 25 Nov 2020, 10:36 • #1 
I want to preface this by saying this is my first post here and am COMPLETELY new to western style fly fishing. I have been fishing Tenkara style rods for the past 5 years. Most of my rods are set up for fishing small-med sized trout on small streams to large rivers. I mostly fish dries or a dry/drop rig. I realize the limitations with Tenkara, specifically relating to targeting larger fish species and fishing larger water bodies. I would like to expand my fishing capabilities.

I was recently gifted a barely used Berkley 'Curt Gowdy' Parametric PG-40 7'6". Id love to put it to good use but I know nothing about rigging up a western style rod. I dug around this forum and found its a 7ish weight? What species would you recommend targeting? What type of water would this be good for? Line and fly selection would be helpful as well.

Again, I'm new to the world of western fly rods so I'm not sure if I'm even asking the right questions. Thanks in advance for the help! I'm glad I found this forum.
-jimmy

Post 25 Nov 2020, 11:24 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
great vintage rod. Nice score.

That model might like a DT6 line best, especially for dry fly fishing.
but a WF7 is also a good possibility.
I'd stick to a "classic" line like a Cortland 444 classic or even 333.

Post 25 Nov 2020, 11:39 • #3 
Glass Fanatic
Welcome aboard! I like anything from a WF6 to a WF7 on mine. I typically use it with the 6wt for the majority of my trout fishing. You'll have fun with it, it's a sweet rod! I've thrown a 5wt line on it and it worked great too, but it's not my personal preference.

Last edited by clarkman23 on 25 Nov 2020, 11:45, edited 1 time in total.

Post 25 Nov 2020, 11:40 • #4 
Guide