It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 05:43

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Roll Casting Rods
Post 11 May 2020, 21:10 • #1 
Sport
Bulldog1935 has several times championed short Phillipsons--especially as opposed to Fenwicks-- for roll casting. Ron, doing a little research, I found you were comparing a 6' Phillipson to a Fenwick FF605. Does your opinion extend beyond those two?

As in, how is the FF79 as a roll caster? I'm not very good at roll casting anyway, so I need a rod that's good at it (!) And in those earlier posts, I think Ron was roll casting streamers for bass. My application will be dries and nymphs for skittish trout in closed-in, gin-clear mountain streams.

Or, more interestingly to me, how do you think the FF75 is as a roll caster? I had that rod and sold it off because the backcasts were getting into the canopy, but never gave roll casting a decent try. Hmmm.

Fish on!
Peter

Re: Roll Casting Rods
Post 11 May 2020, 22:34 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
I don't thinks the 6', 7' or 7'6" Fenwicks are natural roll casters. Short rods are harder to roll cast in general an the Fenwicks don't load as deeply as some other rods. The FF79 is a good roll caster if you can get some line out. The FF84 is fantastic (but an 8'6" rod). The fly line also makes a difference. A DT 6 would probably be the best on an FF79 (or a Wulff TT or Bario GT90 with the long front tapers) for dry fly fishing or traditional nymphing.

The extra lenght of the FF79 is nice on a smaller stream, but you have to realized you might be standing a foot or two on the bank while you cast sidearm over the crick.

Post 11 May 2020, 23:16 • #3 
Piscator
Peter, I've never had to go past short Phillipson or 8' E80, or System 5 to have all the roll-casting short to mid-length rods I need.
The Lee Wulff Conolons in 6' and 7' are also excellent short roll-casters.
But yes, I sold an FF605 because it wouldn't work for my daughters roll-casting in tight creeks.