It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 07:21

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 09 Mar 2020, 05:05 • #1 
Sport
Rather than pollute the 5wt Glass thread any further I’ve opened Pandora’s box in a new thread.
The question regarding action got me thinking.
I’ve a lot of Epic experience and I find the new FastGlass 2 blanks faster than the originals , I prefer a more medium action rod as it suits my casting style better so I like the original more than the new one. I have tried to illustrate what I think makes this difference and maybe show the difference between faster and more medium actions in a way that hopefully makes sense. Apologies for the colour , I only have a Nude FastGlass 2 and it’s not the best for doing this sort of illustration. I used exactly the same weight in the bags which was not set to anything specific other than it gave me a good bend to compare.

This shows the softer (ie Faster) tip and also a slightly softer butt section on the new 580 rod. You can see the original salsa rod has a stiffer butt and stiffer tip but a similar mid section. For me this is a more medium action but also capable of more power, the faster new blank has a softer tip so in theory has better control and a more delicate touch , Plus the butt section should transmit better feedback.