It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 16:24

New Topic Add Reply
OPST Commando Smooth
Post 01 Nov 2019, 18:06 • #1 
Master Guide
I am just wondering if any of you folks are using this set up on your glass rods?

What length rod, rated line weight of rod and corresponding Commando Head being used?

Target fish and type of water?

I watched a couple of the videos on these lines and they look like a neat set up for certain conditions, especially where no back cast room is afforded, but I also wonder if they afford any increased casting distance over a traditional double haul with a standard single hand set up?

Any info appreciated.

Re: OPST Commando Smooth
Post 01 Nov 2019, 19:22 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
I’ve been using the head versions for several years, and honestly use them more than anything else at this point. I don’t have the Smooth, but that’s only because I’ve already spent the $$ on the heads. They are so much fun, and I think glass is really well suited to sustained anchor casting. The also overhead much better than other Spey heads.

One thing to note is that the choice of tip really is an important factor - i can use the same 200gr head on a Steffen 4/5 and on an epic 686, but with the Steffen I use the 7.5ft OPST tips (which are I think 60gr) and on the Epic I use the 96gr MOW tips. In fact I think you could use the 200gr on any 5 or 6wt if you tweak it by changing tips.

My two favourite single hand combos:
EPic 686+200gr Commando+light MOw tips
Steffen 7/8 + 250gr commando + light now tips.

But there’s lots of room for personal taste - I know the above Steffen will easily handle a 300gr commando as well, but again I’d probably lean toward a lighter tip. The Steffen is AMAZING with these heads.

I also use the 250 on the James Green 5wt black glass switch, the 350 on a McFarland 8wt glass switch and the old model Epic Dh11, and the 450 on the Echo 13ft 8wt glass Spey.