It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 07:02

New Topic Add Reply
Post 27 Jul 2022, 14:18 • #1 
I am curious how you all with larger collections keep track of what you have and it’s condition and attributes.

As a professional rod builder I will buy up just about any rod I come across for the right price, regardless of condition. Because of that I have “way too many fly rods” -Spouse’s opinion not mine, ha. I don’t want these to be confused with my business rod inventory in case something happens to me, etc, so I don’t want to include them in my business or on the books as inventory.

When I had 5-10 I did fine with a little notebook. Now I find myself flipping through it confused and searching. I am thinking of doing the hanging tags numbered, and that number corresponds to a spreadsheet that details all the attributes of the rod. Has anyone else done this, or is there a better way to do it and label the rods? Side bonus, on a spreadsheet the details of what I paid for them are less readily available than a notebook on the desk! :lol

Edit to add: What attributes are you tracking?

Post 27 Jul 2022, 16:08 • #2 
Administrator
I use Excel. Any spreadsheet program will do. I track the rod maker (company), model number, serial number (if the rod has one), length, line weight, number of rod sections, whether the rod has a bag and tube, the condition, and comments about the rod, such as bad varnish or ceramic stripping guides. I have not needed numbered hang tags. Having a good storage space is a bigger issue.

If you keep your personal rods separate from inventory, it is still good to track the financial aspects. In that regard, I track what I paid for the rod plus shipping (if I know), when I purchased the rod (or at least when I listed it in inventory), and a selling plus shipping price, if applicable. The dates and prices are important if you sell the rods apart from your business. Those sales would be listed on your taxes as potential capital gains.

Tom