It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 05:29

New Topic Add Reply
FF806 End Cap/Plug Gap
Post 14 Jan 2022, 11:22 • #1 
Guide
I recently purchased an FF806 from the auction site and it's a really nice rod! I have a question since I'm new to these vintage Fenwicks.

The end cap/rubber plug at the butt end of the rod (I refuse to call it a butt plug) has a small gap between the cap/plug and the reel seat.

Is this normal? If not, should I tap it flush with a rubber mallet?

My only reference is an FF85 which has a flush cap, but it's a completely different style cap.

Post 14 Jan 2022, 11:46 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
It's a plug. A cap sits over the tube. It would be almost as normal if it were missing completely. Pull it out and yyu can see if the rod butt or reel seat tube is obstructing it from seating flush. If so, you can shave off part of it to create clearance. Probably it has just bulged and backed out some. You still want to pull it out before it falls out on its own. Reseat it and use a mild adhesive to keep it there.

Post 14 Jan 2022, 13:00 • #3 
Guide
Thanks whrlpool.

I can't budge it in or out, the previous owner might have glued it in, just not flush.

I'm going to leave it be, I don't think it will fall out.

Post 14 Jan 2022, 15:10 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
Wow. Even more unusual. I guess I'd leave it there, too. The originals had a Fenwick logo, but I even if that one doesn't, I guess Fenwick might have used plain plugs at one time or another. Some of the aftermarket replacements from places like Mudhole are a snugger fit, so maybe it's one of those. viewtopic.php?f=2&t=58837&p=287950&hilit=Fenwick+rubber+plug#p287950

Post 14 Jan 2022, 15:51 • #5 
Master Guide
i had one like that too. try boiling it in water for 4 or 5 minutes and then pull it.

Post 14 Jan 2022, 21:01 • #6 
Master Guide