It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 10:19

New Topic Add Reply
Post 11 Dec 2021, 13:33 • #1 
Sport
Hi all,

I've done searches and read a bunch here but I'd appreciate some input. I spotted this rod at a small auction and was considering bidding on it. It's a Ted Williams III 7' 6" for 6wt line and from what I've read here, I'm guessing has to be a Shakespeare Wonderod. The part where I get lost is that I've seen mention than some of the TW rods were the higher end Shakespeare Presidential or Professional rods and references to some being Howald versions. The wraps and finishing on this rod seem to be similar to some of the Presidential and Professional models I found pictures of, but I'm a total novice, so maybe it's something else?

Somewhat related, is there a reference site for the Shakespeare rods that I can do some reading? I found info scattered about, but couldn't sort out whether all of their higher end versions were Howald process or not and then my head started to spin!

I'll try attaching some pictures.

Last edited by G-ManBart on 14 Dec 2021, 00:08, edited 1 time in total.

Post 11 Dec 2021, 14:49 • #2 
Guide
Ted Williams rods..and sporting gear like baseball gloves..were marketed by Sears & Roebuck. It may be a good conclusion that Shakespeare produced that rod for Sears, but I have seen 7'9" Wonderods and do not know about 7'6" models. They were white, but perhaps they went to other colors when producing for a label like Ted Williams/Sears. There were times when the retailers gave them specs on the products they wanted to sell..probably still happens. Cabela's got Sage to reissue what they called the "XP" series of rods recently.

Like Abercrombie&Fitch and other retailers, they used more than one manufacturer over the years for their fly and spinning models..reels get even more complicated to identify.