It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 12:43

New Topic Add Reply
Post 20 Sep 2021, 20:26 • #1 
Hey all!
I need some help with info on this rod,I pick this beauty up at a yard sale for $2!
I’ve searched for a couple days now and with how much you all know about phillipson’s I figured this would be my best bet.
I’m new to collecting and newish to fly fishing in general.
It would be awesome if I could find out what line wt to use with this as well as some classic reels that would work with this rod to get her up and working!
Thank you

Post 20 Sep 2021, 20:59 • #2 
Guide
Welcome...sounds like a real score!

Not sure how long the rod is, or much else about it..but I just got a 7'8" Silaflex that throws a "heavy" 5 wt floating..or 6 wt will work.

maybe tell us a bit more about it, so we can be of more help.

Last edited by Phil-a-Flex on 20 Sep 2021, 21:01, edited 1 time in total.

Post 20 Sep 2021, 20:59 • #3 
Piscator
This is the first Phillipson to use Scotchply - directional fiber reinforcement, and the beginning of the best Phillipson rods.
We can't tell you much more without knowing the rod length.

Post 20 Sep 2021, 21:59 • #4 
I believe It’s a 7’ rod, if I was reading some of the other posts on here right it’s an eponite fiberglass? Did the pictures post on here?

[Photos added. Please follow all the steps for adding photos. You didn't do Step 3. Tom]

Post 20 Sep 2021, 22:02 • #5 
Piscator
Eponite is a process of pressure-injecting and heat-curing the resin.
Scotchply fiber was first used in the Johnson Profile series.
I hope this thing is on.

7' spinning rod, Phillipson patent seat.
It shows a lot of use and a lot of finish wear.
It would be fun to fish

Last edited by bulldog1935 on 21 Sep 2021, 11:05, edited 2 times in total.

Post 20 Sep 2021, 22:15 • #6 
Thank you! Ive spent hours trying to find out what you just told me!
Would you have any idea what year/ what this rod might be worth?

Post 20 Sep 2021, 23:56 • #7 
Administrator
Cnolan wrote: