It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 14:23

New Topic Add Reply
Post 29 Jun 2021, 21:30 • #1 
Sport
All,
I got this rod and reel today ($5). I plan to use it to practice my rebuilding skills. The rod is a 7-ft, 2-piece, 7wt. unsanded fiberglass. The rod is painted red with small white paint splotches. The only legible text on the rod is the model number, 9276, and the line weight. I am very new to this, and I'm not sure I understand the style of tip-top on this rod. Can someone explain? Also, does anyone know who the manufacturer might be?
I included photos of the reel. It was made in Japan, is missing lots of screws, and it has the letter "C" on the arbor. It seems to be quite cheap--does anyone know what make it is?
Best wishes.
Mitch

Post 29 Jun 2021, 21:51 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
Reel is a jap Medalist clone. Not really worth fixing.

Rod at first glance I thought St Croix. But who knows,

That is a spinning tip top, damaged, tip seciton of rod is probably shorter than butt, looks like the lost a few inches off tip of rod and installed a new tip tip.

Post 30 Jun 2021, 08:51 • #3 
Sport
Majicwrench,
Thanks so much for your help. I appreciate your patience and kindness. As a novice, I am learning every time I ask a question.
Yes, the top section is shorter than the butt. (Together, the rod measures 7'1". Maybe it was 7'6" or 8' when new.)
The ferules are good, and the blank of the butt section is good. I do have some orphan tip sections, so I'll see if one of them matches the butt well enough create a "Frankenrod" with a decent action. It's amazing how much fun can be purchased for a few dollars at junk stores.
Best wishes.
Mitch

Post 30 Jun 2021, 10:25 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
92 might be a model number or gram weight. It looks like it’s supposed to be 7’6” and is rated for a 7 weight. So MW is correct. The tip was broken and a spinning rod tip put on it. With so much tip gone it will be pretty fast and you might try going up a line weight.

Post 30 Jun 2021, 16:29 • #5 
Guide