It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 10:08

New Topic Add Reply
Post 23 Jun 2021, 20:38 • #1 
Sport
I am new to fiberglass fly rods, so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I would like to try my hand at repairing/rebuilding rods, but I don't want to invest much in the beginning. With this in mind, I went to a junk store today and bought 4 beat-up old rods for about $3 each (a total of $12). I plan to practice repairing these so I won't risk damaging anything of real value. I am including photos of a rod I had assumed was graphite or some similar material because of the way it looks. However, when I look for information about the rod (True Temper 805, 7-1/2 ft, 2-piece, Custom Build Eight-[something unreadable], 6-wt), I only see mention of fiberglass rods. The rod appears black to my eyes. It is very limber, and I think I may enjoy fishing with it after replacing some of the guides.
So here is my question: How can I tell if this (or any other) rod is fiberglass?
Best wishes

After reading the comments, I took some new close-up images that I believe will show the rod is made from gray fiberglass with paint on top, as follows:

Best wishes.
Mitch

Last edited by kanokie on 24 Jun 2021, 16:28, edited 1 time in total.

Post 23 Jun 2021, 22:20 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
That certainly appears to be a glass rod, with the typical reel seat and metal ferrules of the day. Most of the hollow built glass rods were built with the metal ferrules, going to the Fenwick style ferrule just before the end of the glass production.

Larry

Post 24 Jun 2021, 01:18 • #3 
Glass Fanatic
Hi kanokie, welcome to the forum, it looks like we are almost neighbors.
I think you'll find the black is paint, the real color shows around the guides where the paint is missing.
Good rod to practice on, as you say no big loss is possible and it might turn out a wonderful using rod.