It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 03:41

New Topic Add Reply
Post 30 Jan 2020, 23:08 • #1 
First off - is this rod so valuable I should not be fishing with it(see pictures)? The patent pending and no serial numbers or logo makes me wonder if this is an early rod for the company.

So on to how this all began - I am 51 and have been fishing all my life but never picked up a fly rod. Just the other day I could not pass up on this Fenwick at our local Goodwill and it looks like I am about to expand my fishing horizons. I have little knowledge of fly fishing and I am starting this journey with just this rod so far. I will be lake fishing mostly from my kayak(19 local lakes) and I also plan to work into streams eventually(little knowledge) but I know this is going to take time as well as some error...... this is where you come in I hope.
I would like to get a good vintage reel that is new enough to give me an advantage over old equipment but not so new it is not still vintage. I know the "#8DT" double taper line is what's called out on the rod but other than that I'm clueless to what size reel or what flies to use. An 8 1/2' 3 3/4oz means nothing to me yet but most of all if this antique should be shelved and looked at I will stop right here and not look for a reel etc to go with it.

Really any help at all is very appreciated:
1) rod value
2) good reel choice
3) what species and flies or other equipment will be best w/ this rod? (trout and bass preferred)
4) where would you suggest I look for more information regarding my needs?

Last edited by New2VintageFishing on 31 Jan 2020, 00:33, edited 2 times in total.

Post 30 Jan 2020, 23:57 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
The best place for more info is this forum's search function that can be found at the top of the forum pages, all of them.

Welcome, stick around and do some homework with our Search tool.

Post 31 Jan 2020, 08:26 • #3 
Master Guide