It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 15:39

1, 2, 3  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 05 Dec 2019, 07:57 • #1 
I am very new to fly fishing, and in my search for info on my grandfathers old rod, I noticed a real following for the old fiberglass poles. How do these vintage rods compare to their modern graphite counterparts?

Post 05 Dec 2019, 08:13 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
Vintage fiberglass to current graphite? Night and day. Most new graphite rods are lighter, faster action, break easier, and much more expensive. It would be better to compare vintage glass to current glass.

Post 05 Dec 2019, 08:45 • #3 
Piscator
In 6' to 8' rods, glass out-performs graphite in every way.
Rather than night and day, consider them apples and oranges with different uses.
It's no accident the norm venerable glass rods were 7'6", while the norm graphite rods are 9' - it works out in the math.
You wouldn't want a 7' graphite rod any more than you would want a 9' glass rod.

The only way they can sell durable goods to people who already have them is to convince them newer is better - we have all been programed with this all our lives.

And since this also fits, one of the great success stories of this forum:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=65357

Post 05 Dec 2019, 08:49 • #4 
Guide
There are great glass rods and crappy glass rods, and there is great graphite and crappy graphite. Same with bamboo and every other material used.
Cost when new is often a good indicator of quality, but not of its castability for you.
Go to fly fishing shows in your area. They usually have casting ponds set up and tons of rods to try in every material.
I could tell you what my favorite go-to rods are, and you might buy one based on my glowing recommendation and absolutely love it or hate it.

Post 05 Dec 2019, 08:57 • #5 
Piscator
Casting is over-rated and costs more people more fish than any other activity.

Post 05 Dec 2019, 09:19 • #6 
Guide
bulldog1935 wrote: