It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 10:55

New Topic Add Reply
Post 31 Dec 2005, 14:44 • #1 
Sport
I am new to fiberglass and really like them. I am interested in owning a Winston fiberglass rod down the road if they are as I have heard them described a medium fast action rod.

What would I expect to pay?

Where would I look to find one if any are avalible?

I have a few very nice Bamboo rods,and at some point would like to add a classic fiberglass rod like a Winston that have a Granger action. Any other suggestions?

Post 02 Jan 2006, 16:36 • #2 
Emeritus
search eBay every day.
Thats what I do.
ribs1

Post 02 Jan 2006, 17:50 • #3 
Sport
I have owned 3. All were different. The longer lighter rods (i had an 8' 4wt I should never have sold), were medium and felt very much like a medium 8' 4wt cane rod. My 7'6" 5 wt is med/fast and packs some reserve power and has a lot of fish landing backbone. 7 footer is med/fast and is sweet small stream rod, it and my vintage Scott 7' rod are my best small stream rods bar none and that includes cane. Expect to pay $500 to $1,000.
HC

Post 03 Jan 2006, 13:26 • #4 
Guide
I think Winston tends to make faster rods in the line weights that are more often fished in distance situations, 6 weights and especially bigger, and if you can use one of these you are likely to get one cheaper than the leetle fellers.

I have two and have known another.

8.5' #5 -Montana era, was a medium action rod, I wouldn't call it medium slow or medium fast, just a good all round all purpose trout rod that seemed to do everything well. Traded it and I don't regret it because I got a Lee Wulff pack rod I've never seen elsewhere and a Scott glass blank with factory handle - If I hadn't got two great rods to fish for one rod I'd sure regret giving up this winston, as it was wonderful to fish. It seemed like I'd just think the fly into the little spot I wanted it to go to.