It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 05:19

New Topic Add Reply
Post 18 Jan 2006, 16:30 • #1 
Master Guide
My background is more Fenwick, but I am curious as to why you think that Phillipson Glass rods are so distinctive? Actions, finish, history? I admit that Bill Phillipson was an interesting figure, and I have one of his boo rods. But as for his glass lines - again, why are they valued so much?
Enjoy..

Post 18 Jan 2006, 17:18 • #2 
Sport
I like them mostly because of their action. I haven't fished any above a 6 line, but loved the ones I did fish. They are light in the hand, nice ferrule design, attractive shafts, and not overly geeked-out on the wraps. They seem closer in action to cane than the Fenwicks.
I like the lighter line Fenwicks almost as much as the Phillipsons, but for different reasons. To me the Phillipsons were the next step from cane, and the Fenwicks the next step toward graphite.
Of course all of the above is just my opinion.

Post 19 Jan 2006, 12:29 • #3 
Guide
I have a million reasons why I love most Phillipsons.
If you read the Fiberglass rod book by Johnson and Johnson you get a very high regard for Bill Phillipson as one of the key innovators in early glass development. Phillipson's history with Granger and Phillipson, high quality in production volume bamboo rods was a sound basis for his great glass rods at moderate prices. All in all it's a reverence for the history of fly rod development, the short period of great glass and his key part in it.