It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 17:03

New Topic Add Reply
Post 01 Dec 2010, 13:01 • #1 
Hey I was hoping someone may have some information on this rod such as date of manufacture or anything else. I got it at a yard sale when I was 12, went home and made some new guides from paperclips, and went fishing with the old level braided line that was on it; I was hooked. I had the rod ever since and Im finally gettin around to fixing it now that Im 23Image I know its not worth crap but maybe someone else may have seen one before. The action seems nice but its pretty ragged ha ha. Any help is appreciated.ImageImageImageImageImage

Post 02 Dec 2010, 16:48 • #2 
Master Guide
I'm no expert, but I see some attributes of a Garcia vintage in her, but like I said I'm no expert.

Post 02 Dec 2010, 17:32 • #3 
Administrator
TheOtherWay,

Welcome to the Fiberglass Flyrodders! To the best of my recollection I've never seen a Whittemore fly rod before. If I had to guess, I would say late 60s from the reelseat. I imagine the rod was built by one of the big supplies like Lamiglas or US Fiberglass and sold under the Whittemore name.

You are right about the condition - it needs lots of work. Some of the original black wraps are still adhering to the rod. I would try to copy those when I wrapped on new guides. From the photo it looks like you need a new grip, new reelseat, new guides, and new wraps. The ferrule might be OK, but it is easy enough to replace. The guides, thread, and cork are easily obtained, but the reelseat might take some searching to find a good one. Keep an eye on eBay and a new old stock seat might show up. Check out the Rod Building section for some examples of rod rebuilds.

Tom

Post 02 Dec 2010, 18:51 • #4