It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 02:30

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 07 Jan 2022, 10:52 • #1 
Guide
I have a FF85 7/8/9 on it's way, very excited to try it out on the bays/beaches around San Diego.

Thinking about pairing it with a 1495 1/2 and a DT or WF 8WT.

I'm new to glass and was wondering why DT lines are so popular with glass rods, even in these heavier weights? Is it because that's what was used when "back in the day" or is their a true performance advantage?

Brian

Post 07 Jan 2022, 11:53 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
I wrote this several years ago:
https://bassbug.blogspot.com/2017/08/th ... -line.html

Post 07 Jan 2022, 12:01 • #3 
Guide
Thanks for the info!

Also just saw the long thread of DT versus WF a few posts below.

I guess the question should be: why are fiberglass fly rodders the only ones to appreciate the advantages of DT lines versus the general fly fishing public? :-)

Post 07 Jan 2022, 12:03 • #4 
Piscator
The last answer is probably because we're using big reels and have room for DT - all around better choice for trout fishing,
but I would think inshore fishing, you're going to want to shoot a few big flies.

Post 07 Jan 2022, 12:19 • #5 
Guide
BrianN wrote:
I have a FF85 7/8/9 on it's way, very excited to try it out on the bays/beaches around San Diego.

Thinking about pairing it with a 1495 1/2 and a DT or WF 8WT.

I'm new to glass and was wondering why DT lines are so popular with glass rods, even in these heavier weights? Is it because that's what was used when "back in the day" or is their a true performance advantage?

Brian
To answer your first question - nostalgia.
If your fishing bays and beaches I would recommend a beach/surf line.

Post 07 Jan 2022, 12:47 • #6 
Glass Fanatic
All my graphite trout rods (and bamboo) have DT's on them too, so it's not just a glass thing with everyone.

Post 07 Jan 2022, 13:24 • #7 
Glass Fanatic