It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 19:12

1, 2, 3  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 22 Dec 2021, 13:14 • #1 
Sport
Recently, I've been exploring DT lines on bamboo and glass, having only ever fished WF with graphite rods. I've found that in most instances, I really like the way they cast (particularly up close) on my shorter and lighter line weight rods...say 3wt and 4wt. I understand that there's not much difference between the two types of lines inside of 30' but for some reason they seem to hold tighter loops and feel smoother.

That said, I've read that some folks use DT for dries and up close work, but move to WF lines when they're trying to cast at greater distances or moving up to heavier rods.

So for the folks fishing glass, do you follow this type of "logic"? Do you fish DT or WF exclusively? And, if you do switch, at what weight or conditions do you make the switch?

Post 22 Dec 2021, 13:30 • #2 
Sport
I'm a newbie at glass, but I don't think the distance casting differences between WF and DT are nearly as big a deal as some folks seem to think. Sure, if you're casting 75ft +, double-hauling and really shooting line it's going to matter, but that's pretty specialized. I've been adding DT lines for my cane rods and I've had a couple of them improve significantly with the change so I'm going start trying them on glass as the weather cooperates. In one case I had a rod go from "that's nice" with a WF5 to "WOW!" with a DT5, so it's worth trying.

I've been trying to stick to lines that are all traditional weights to minimize variables a bit...added a couple of 406 DT lines so far and now plan to add them in a couple more weights.

Post 22 Dec 2021, 13:30 • #3 
Glass Fanatic
I switch when I win a line in a fundraising raffle.