It is currently 20 Apr 2024, 01:07

New Topic Add Reply
Posting up
Post 27 Mar 2009, 18:12 • #1 
Sport
Hey all.

Just wanted to say hello to everyone. I've been flyfishing for about 2 years now and last year started building the occasional rod. I am currently building my fourth rod, a Batson 6'6" 2wt 4pc. The blank for my next build is in transit. That would be the one prompted me to sign on here. It's a Lami Fiberglass Fly 7'0" 3wt 2pc. This will be my first glass stick, so I still do not know whether I'll like fishing them. I dig the look of glass and the one glass stick I've casted really had me interested.

Last year I read one of Cameron's posts on another board about a Scott F, 3wt I think. Anyway, after a couple PMs with him he recommended the Lami honey yellow blanks and suggested I check this board out. That led me here, and finally to the build I've been waiting for. With the creeks of the west slope of the Sierra soon to open, I figured it was finally time to build on a glass blank. I hope to have it ready for the opener on April 25. I've a reel seat with spalted maple burl ordered as well as the blank. I've arranged with a friend of mine to turn a grip for me, and another to make a rod sock. I must say that I am feeling pretty jazzed about this considering I've never fished glass.

Looking forward to checking out the rest of the board here.

Darrin

Posting up
Post 28 Mar 2009, 04:31 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
Darin,
Welcome, I think your first attempt at a glass rod is excellent. Should be a real pleasure on the waters in your area. I would caution you that this one won't be your last. Again, welcome, enjoy the neighbor hood, there are a lot of great people here. Respectfully rvreclus

Posting up
Post 28 Mar 2009, 10:46 • #3 
Guide