It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 05:05

New Topic Add Reply
Post 08 Dec 2022, 22:42 • #1 
Hi this is my first time on forum. I am writing on behalf of my old friend Bill Rhodes who is in kinds bad shape. He has a old yellow, 2 piece, Scott fiberglass fly rod. He bought it at the Fly Hutch shop in Santa Clara California. It has Bill’s name written on it in the same hand and pen as the Scott name and rod specs.
The rod specs are: Scott 2 Powr-PLY, 7.5’ - 2 3/8 oz. - WF-6F, #A-353. I will attach photo.
The serial number seems to indicate it is a early model. I spoke with Scott Rods. They said there records did not go back that far. I would like to find someone who has any info on this rod. Just trying to help an old buddy. Thanks

Bob Bebout

Post 10 Dec 2022, 18:06 • #2 
Administrator
Hi Bob,

Welcome to the forum!

As far as I know, the rod was made in the very early 70s. However, Scott rods aren't my specialty. I have sent a message to a forum member who should know. If you get a chance to post some photos of the rod and the storage tube label, that would help with identification. For instructions on posting photos here, click this link.

Tom

Note added: I contacted Larry Kenney about this rod. Here's his reply:

Bill Rhodes did a lot of photography for Dan Blanton's early angling writing in Angler Magazine. I’m sorry to hear he's not doing well. He, like Dan, Harry, and Neal Bohannon, were members of the San Jose Flycasters club. We sold a lot of rods through Neal's shop.