It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 16:06

New Topic Add Reply
What makes a fly rod?
Post 30 Nov 2021, 21:50 • #1 
Please don't laugh? It's a serious question. I am new to fly fishing and by nature cheap, so I am studying the nature of fly rods. I now appreciate many of the technicalities, the weights, the lines and the feel of a fly rod, but I have a problem. - My best fish has been a 4lb brown trout on the Platte River, just outside of Casper, WY and I caught it on a streamer, which was locally called a Platte River streamer. I fished it as a wet fly moving on the bottom with a light weight on the line about 4' in front of the streamer, but, and here is the big "but" - I was using a small (~4') graphite, spinning rod. I caught lots of trout this way, but I can't really say I've ever caught a fish by "fly fishing" or can I?
The reason I ask is because I have a 12' rod (from England) that I have only ever used once in America, but I am interested in using it for light weight fly fishing. (It was my first time fishing in America and yes, I was laughed at, so never used it again) It is two handed, but I thought it might work from my kayak, which is obviously low in the water - I have actually cast single maggots, with no weights and 3lb line on this rod (more like laid on the water than cast. You flip the maggot forward). At the moment , I have a 7wt fly rod and reel, but want some fun with sunfish (I live in Houston), so I was gearing up for a 4 wt outfit for Christmas - bought a 3/4 reel, a 4 wt forward line and was looking at fly rods when I came across these things called "Spey" rods. Obviously a much heavier operation, but would using my old fishing rod with a fly line and reel make it a fly rod? - By the way, I don't expect to be catching anything for the record books, but just in case....

Post 01 Dec 2021, 00:21 • #2 
Guide
So, as I understand it, your options with the rods you have are a short spinning rod and a12' spey rod?