It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 08:04

New Topic Add Reply
New member & new to FF
Post 06 Sep 2021, 15:35 • #1 
Sport
Hello all,
Ive recently followed a life long dream and relocated to the Pacific Northwest. Specifically Eastern Washington.
Im new to fly fishing, and love vintage tools and equipment. I just purchased 2 fiberglass fly rods today from Ebay.
Both are Horrocks-Ibbotson Ike Walton's. Rod #1 is a 1348 8' black in color, and #2 is model ? 8'4" and reddish brown in color. I want to think about reels ( vintage for sure ) for both but A, dont know anything about the line/weight of either rod? And B, other than wanting anti reverse selector, and a drag adjust Im not sure what a good reel to match to either of these would be? I like vintage Diawa and 1960's to 70's design and reel construction and quality. Doesnt have to be Diawa. Any thoughts or knowledge on the rods or reel recommendations I would gladly appreciate. I think, the rods are in the 5-7 line weight range but wont know more until I recieve them, or enlightened by a knowledgeable member. Thanks in advance!

Post 06 Sep 2021, 16:16 • #2 
Hmm! Buying stuff of the auction site is sometimes risky. When you get the rods, take them out of the box, put them together and shake them up and down. Do they feel like wet noodles or nice and crisp. Fiberglass rods are notoriously heavy and slow action, especially the older ones. I'd not start investing is more gear till you find out what you have already purchased. Being new to the game means there will be a learning curve before you become proficient. We all went through it. And I think most will agree with me starting off with heavy, lumbering equipment will not make the adoption of the sport either easy or enjoyable.

Post 06 Sep 2021, 18:17 • #3 
Administrator
Hi CrustyRusty, Welcome to the Forum!