It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 10:50

New Topic Add Reply
Hello All!
Post 26 Sep 2019, 11:44 • #1 
Good Morning!

I am really thrilled to have found this forum, which I discovered while searching for info on using vintage fly rod sized lures. I'm a history teacher (though I'm in the process of transitioning into a career in computer science - what I should have majored in 30 years ago!), and a happily married father of two grown daughters, as well as being the help for our tribe of friendly cats, :)

I frequently fish in our local ponds and lakes, and about once a month the Mrs and I go camping at one or the other of the state parks here in in Texas. Mostly I fish for bluegill and other warm water species. I'm really looking forward to Thanksgiving break when I'll be able to spend a week camping along the Frio River and go after some of our Texas Trout!

I love my fiberglass rods and American-made reels (well, the 7/8 Medalist is overseas made, but the rest are home grown), both using and learning about them. I'm also starting to learn how to tie my own flies.

Again, I'm really pleased to have found this forum, and I'm looking forward to taking part in the discussions!

James

Re: Hello All!
Post 26 Sep 2019, 12:45 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
Welcome aboard James. Although an Okie, I love those Hill Country rivers myself. I fear that your continued exposure to this forum could lead to spending of more and more disposable income on glass rods and fine reels. I'm warning you now while you still have a chance to escape your fate. ;)

Larry

Post 26 Sep 2019, 12:56 • #3 
Inactive
What Larry said . :)

Post 26 Sep 2019, 12:57 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
Welcome, jhill71! Re Canoeman's caution: it's too late. ;-)

Post 26 Sep 2019, 14:07 • #5 
Glass Fanatic
What Tomah said. I can think of several rods an reels that you don't list and that you may need. :)

Post 26 Sep 2019, 14:12 • #6 
Master Guide
Canoeman1947 wrote: