It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 00:48

New Topic Add Reply
Fishing Boots
Post 05 Feb 2008, 18:05 • #1 
Glass Fanatic
I think we need a new section to post stuff on non-rod gear. Anyway, I wore my first non-felt boots for the first time today. I got a pair of Bean rubber bottom wading boots and boy are they great. Much easier to climb around the rocks with these than the felt bottom boots. If you like to hike and fish mountain trout streams and have to climb around rocks, walk up and down steep banks, these are way better than the felt boots. I think they were about 70 bucks.

Fishing Boots
Post 05 Feb 2008, 18:11 • #2 
Administrator
gearboy ... I've been using Aquastealth soled wading boots now for about eight years and they are a great long lasting material. You're going to be happy with those boots without a doubt.

Fishing Boots
Post 06 Feb 2008, 07:09 • #3 
Master Guide
How do they perform on freestone rivers with basketball size slippery rocks? I currently use felt soles with studs ... and a wading staff. :\
Lou

Fishing Boots
Post 06 Feb 2008, 07:44 • #4 
Master Guide
Pretty good. I've never slipped in my Aquastealths where I wouldn't have slipped with felt. You can get studds put in aquastealths.

Fishing Boots
Post 06 Feb 2008, 10:42 • #5 
Master Guide
The felt vs. Aquastealth debate is kind of like the old short rod vs. long rod debate: the only honest answer, I think, is "it depends.":lol For my fishing in the Southern Appalachia's, my pair of Simms Guides with studded Aquastealth were ideal: I spent most of my time scrambling on the bank and made a concerted effort to stay out of the water. Any problems I had were caused more by the studs than the rubber soles: flat, dry rocks are not your friends.