It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 19:25

New Topic Add Reply
Post 20 Sep 2017, 09:17 • #1 
I am a Newbie to this forum and to Fiberglass Flyrodders and need some help from anyone who knows how to reassemble a Martin 48A automatic fly reel. This reel was my first fly rod reel whe I was a younger man and I just recently found it, took it apart to clean, oil, grease and de rust and now can't get it back together again. Help!! If someone has a video or how to with pics, it would be greatly appreciated. Would like to go fishing with this again!

Post 20 Sep 2017, 09:50 • #2 
Piscator
a scene from Blazing Saddles comes to mind - Son, you're on your own.

Post 20 Sep 2017, 10:51 • #3 
Glass Fanatic
Good luck.I tried to assemble a Japanese automatic reel once and found rewinding that spring to be a nightmare.It got thrown out.

Post 20 Sep 2017, 18:45 • #4 
Glass Fanatic
crazy- was at the local flea market last weekend and a guy who has tons of really cool and unusual stuff,had a strange looking tool gizmo that kind of resembled an old apple peeler .it was a tool for winding springs for clocks and other clock work wind up things.toys trains etc.and probably an auto fly reel.might want to reassemble that reel without the spring and put it on a shelf.if you really like these reels there are lots of them out there

Post 20 Sep 2017, 22:30 • #5 
Master Guide
If Bulldog says you're on your own then you're probably an inclined plane wrapped helically around an axis.

Post 21 Sep 2017, 10:25 • #6 
Master Guide
Not familiar with the Martin reel, but have put together many others. First, I haven't found one where the reel can't be assembled with the spring unwound. Other than some very early ones, automatic reels have a ratchet wind mechanism and a spring release mechanism to adjust where the spring wind ends when the reel is assembled. No need to assemble it with a given spring tension. (FYI, release the spring before disassembly)