It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 16:21

New Topic Add Reply
Scott F2 723
Post 08 Aug 2018, 21:21 • #1 
Sport
I’m new to the world of glass—recently picked up an Orvis Superfine Glass 764 as my first fiberglass fly rod. I’ve been thinking about adding a lighter SFG to fill a large gap in the quiver. My only rod lighter than the 4-weight is a 7’10” Sage TXL zero weight. While trying to decide between the 7’ and 7’6” three weight SFG, I stumbled upon a great deal on a Scott F2 723. I can actually pick up the Scott a bit cheaper than the SFG from Orvis, and I like the idea of a four piece for packing into remote streams in the Sierras. Now I’m leaning that way. Everyone on here seems to LOVE the F2 653, but I haven’t read much about the F2 723. I’m looking for some input from anyone with experience fishing this longer three weight from Scott. Would I be better off just ordering the SFG from Orvis?

Thanks

Re: Scott F2 723
Post 09 Aug 2018, 05:48 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
I’ve done a brief cast some years ago and I thought it was a bit wobbly soft. Wasn’t this model first only sold in Japan to fish for those illusive yamame?

Post 09 Aug 2018, 08:28 • #3 
Guide
Yes, the F2 723/4 used to be the “Japan Special” until they added it to their normal lineup. I really enjoy mine, but I would not call it an all around rod like the 653 is. I’ll nymph fish with it in a pinch, but this is not what it was designed to do. I will say it is far more capable of fishing larger flies than most would think just shaking it in a fly shop. I was fishing foam hoppers with it last week in some wind with no problems.

What are your intentions for the 723/4 if you were to add it to your quiver? It was designed to fish small streams and smaller trout.

Post 09 Aug 2018, 08:48 • #4 
Sport
Trouts wrote:
What are your intentions for the 723/4 if you were to add it to your quiver? It was designed to small streams and smaller trout.