It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 16:11

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
Post 11 Sep 2017, 09:23 • #1 
Inactive
Hey guys,

Well, I think I'm officially becoming a glass head. Yesterday I realized that I'm officially fishing more glass than graphite, and when I'm fishing graphite I'm finding even softer models to be too stiff. I've been lucky enough to get some great deals on some glass rods, and as many of you may be able to relate, I'm finding myself looking out for even more rods. That said, I can't be dropping a couple hundred bucks every time something peeks my interest.

So in short, what are some classic models and sizes that I may be able to find online for cheaper prices? I fish a lot of different trout water, the biggest being the Upper Delaware.

Thanks!

Post 11 Sep 2017, 09:28 • #2 
Master Guide
If you like fishing 8' 5wt rods, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better value than a Fenwick FF805.

Post 11 Sep 2017, 10:10 • #3 
Glass Fanatic
I'm by no means an expert on classic glass (most of my glass rods are modern), but to expand a bit on Robert's suggestion, I would suggest that you look at the old Fenwicks, among others. There's almost always a bunch listed on Ebay. Some of the BIN listings seem quite overpriced, but many are sold in the auction format. And many are sold through the classified section here at what seem like quite reasonable prices. The Wikipage (there's a box on the right side of the main page near the top) has a great run down of the various Fenwick models and also has writeups on many other classic lines/models. As to the Fenwicks, I think it really depends on the particular rod, but my understanding is that in general the two digit FFs are slower/more deliberate than the three digit FFs. But you should have lots of choices is 5-8 wts between 7 1/2 - 8 1/2' feet. Good luck in your search.

Post 11 Sep 2017, 11:25 • #4 
Glass Fanatic