It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 09:02

1, 2  Next New Topic Add Reply
glass rods and DT lines
Post 20 Sep 2018, 05:55 • #1 
Guide
I am brand spanking new to this fiberglass thing. Recently acquired an FF 79 which i have tried with several different lines. I have some interest in acquiring an FF84 if i find a nice one at a decent price, although i am first trying to absorb the FF79 in my fishing. I think i will mostly use the FF79 for dry fly/ wade fishing on modest sized streams. Thus far, i have not had much success at long distance stillwater casting or drift boat dry fly fishing requiring a lot of casting and mending.

I have no experience with DT lines, on fiberglass or otherwise. Does a DT line in say a 5 wt behave similarly to a 5 wt designation in a WF line with a long head like Rio Trout LT or SA Trout? (I have tried these lines as well as a Rio WF 6 on the FF79.) Or perhaps more generally, how will the DT behave differently from a WF line in the same designated weight.

thanks for the help.

Post 20 Sep 2018, 06:23 • #2 
Glass Fanatic
I use DT lines for most of my fishing with glass. I use WF if I’m in a situation where I would need to shoot line. DT also roll casts better. I think at most fishable distances DT lines are better for presentation. I would also stay away from the Rio Trout LTs. They are half a line size heavy. The best Rio Line for Glass is the Lightline. SA Trout Lines are all true to grain weight and are very good. I would also recommend looking at DT 406 Fly Lines. They are true to grain weight and the owner is a forum member.

Post 20 Sep 2018, 06:37 • #3 
Master Guide