It is currently 24 Apr 2024, 02:22

New Topic Add Reply
Post 26 Sep 2017, 20:50 • #1 
I recently purchased a Cabelas Prime 7'3" 5 weight fiberglass rod , and I was thinking about mounting an Orvis Battenkill( Made in England by Hardy) 5/6 reel . Being that I'm new to fly fishing ( this is my first year) , I wondering am I looking to be disappointed using this combination at my local pond where I try to catch bass using poppers and sponge bugs? Also I find that I really struggle with some of the poppers I try. ( No distance) . I don't know what type of line came with the reel when I bought it. Any suggestions as to the rod and reel combo, and what type line I should use.

Post 27 Sep 2017, 19:04 • #2 
Bass:
I fish a lot of poppers and unless you are going really small like #8 #10 or #12 size poppers you are just a bit under gunned. I normally use an 8 Wt that will push a 1/0 popper an easy 50 - 60 ft. I also usually have a rigged second or third rod one of them is normally a 6 Wt that will work for small poppers an most any foam type fly. (fishing from a boat) With poppers we have two things working against us, weight and wind resistance. The poppers with several legs coming out from the side are very wind resistant.

Seems you have two options:
1. Smaller/lighter lures
2. A larger outfit (8wt or 9wt in 9 ft with weight forward line which will cast to and catch anything this side of saltwater)

Keep us posted, good fishing,

Jim P

Post 27 Sep 2017, 20:27 • #3 
Master Guide
I agree with Jim P's suggestion about the size of the poppers. The Prime has alot of flex which makes casting flys oversized for the weight of the rod troublesome . Since you selected the Prime, I assume you like the sensitivity the rod has when playing a fish and you might not like a larger rod.